Women want more

12 Jul

Compared to most people I know, I have it really good. Roof over my head, good job, husband and two great kids, holidays every year money in the bank and generally, if I want or need something I can have it so why do I always want more?
Wanting more can sometimes be a good thing but may come with sacrifices. Wanting to strive and having ambitions are great qualities in any person, and for a man to have a woman that wants to be the best that she can be, and even when she’s at her highest height still strives on is fantastic.

But… (and this is a big one) if the man is not flowing in her direction aiming for the stars, wanting to climb mountains to be the best that HE can be he may get left behind eating the dust of the woman he loves who’s running like Usain Bolt to get to the finish line!

Although I wouldn’t mind winning the lottery, the thought of too much money is scary – so I’m actually not that greedy! I would just want a few standard things and to sit on the rest. Although I’m good at my job, I’m not really looking to ‘savage’ all my co-workers with dreams of getting to the top! I would like a new job, but I guess that will happen, when it happens! I manage perfectly well being a working mum, whilst managing to shake a regular leg but when there are too many things happening at once I juggle everything to make it work (women can understand this) and this is where wanting more comes into it…
I will always be a wife and a mother but sometimes; it is just nice being ME – letting go and being free! I think this is something that most women can relate to. When the kids grow up, I don’t want to be stuck in the house having not worked all my life feeling sorry for myself?! When my eggs have grown into big birds (Sesame St.) and flown the nest (As time is flying by like…that probably won’t be long) I want to be out there still doing the things I enjoy; living my life to the fullest and not having regrets about things I wished I had done.
The word housewife has always sickened me and fair play to all the mums that DO stay at home. I did do this for a while but as my daughter grew I started to forget how to have adult conversations and to be honest (about?) There is only so much Jeremy Kyle and Cbeebies a woman can take!!!

Having been a teenage mum, I have gone from strength to strength on the defensive trying to overcome fears, doing things wrong then going over them, trying to do them right again. I know there is no such thing as the ‘perfect parents’ or ‘perfect Mum’, and I am far from being the ‘perfect person’ and some people may think this is quite selfish as when you are a Mum you have to sacrifice things for your children but I say, ‘Do you really need to do that? Can’t we at least try to have it all??? My children haven’t suffered. My kids know if mummy doesn’t work – we won’t have holidays and amazing days out. My kids are never left with nannies and our routine is sometimes a struggle but every week with all their activities I pull it off and between 8 and 9pm I hang up my ‘mum shoes’ and turn into me. That’s if I don’t have to work.

At this time I want to catch up with the gossip, open a bottle of wine or go and shake what MY mamma gave me.
I love my kids, but I want them to see me as much more than their mum. I want to be someone who they look up to, respect, see as hard working, someone with morals, ambition, drive, a strong woman who stands up for what she believes in and will fight to be heard. I want them to see me as the woman who did it all and more. Personally, I think it’s important for children to have people that they can look up to in all respects, having a daughter; it’s important for me to show her there is much more to being a woman than just being someone’s partner, wife or baby mother and breeding like a rabbit.

I feel I’m a bit like Oliver in Oliver Twist crying out with all I have going on in my life “Please Sir, can I have some more?” Being perfectly honest, Oliver did end up going from rags to riches so maybe there is no harm?

8 Responses to “Women want more”

  1. amberinidalioness July 13, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    If ever a truer word said. U put my exact thoughts into words.
    Of course its great to have that Tym when mothers are just themselves. Them times don’t come often enough. There’s no problem with striving for me its human nature.

    Such a good read looking forward to reading more of your thoughts lady xxxx

  2. kirsty July 14, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    These words are so ture. Its important for our kids to look up to us as not just there mum..

    This reading is excellent xx

    • Michelle Dann July 14, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

      Wow! Basically you have summed up how I feel!

      I love being a mum and the kids are everything to me and I want them to have things that I never had!

      I do feel that there needs to be more, I am a person a have feelings and needs and need to feel like I am ME rather than just someone’s wife or mum!

      Never lose sight of who you are. You can be the best mum you can but need to make sure that you are the best person you can be for yourself!

      This is why I am starting my NVQ this year and will eventually get myself a degree, I will do this even if it kills me! lol

      You always need to make time for yourself and don’t lose sight of who you are. x x

      • supermumlover July 14, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

        Good on you Miche think all us mum’s need some form of escape mechanism and whatever it is I say do it for you xxxx

  3. Medhavi Pheiffer July 15, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Your sooooo right, inspired alot of food for though…we can be sister, mother, wifes, daughters, friend and workers ect ect ect…when is it ok to just be me! give me more darling! looking forward to it! xxx

  4. Mum Work and Play July 15, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, Love yours too – capturing the thoughts of a lot of us. My life as a wife and mum is great but also love my life as a business consultant/copywriter. I do not feel guilty about doing all as they all define me in different ways. Lets celebrate US for what we do!!!

    • supermumlover July 15, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      Thanks glad you enjoyed it have subscribed to yours so look forward to hearinbg more about mutual thoughts we both have

  5. Miss Acquah July 23, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Really enjoyed it! this has given me food for thought for when i settle down and have a family of my own.

    I love the way what you have to say relates to women as a whole not just, married, mums etc.

    You have alot of knowledge and experience to share with the world and all proops to you doing that! can’t wait to read your next one.

    I think we’ve found a replacement for Opera!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

